Cooperation with Greece

The diplomatic relations between the countries date back to March 8, 1924

The diplomatic relations between the countries date back to March 8, 1924. 

July 1993 witnessed the visit of the Russian President to Greece that gave birth to a Treaty of Friendship and Cooperation that would come into force on September 8, 1995. President Konstantinos Stefanopoulos of Greece arrived in Moscow on a reciprocal visit in May 1995.

Since 1993 the countries have exchanged more than 10 official and working visits at the highest level. Cooperation is on between ministries and agencies, as well as the Parliaments.
Russia and Greece have signed 50-plus treaties and agreements, still in force, that govern a wide range of bilateral ties.

Since 1997, Russia and Greece have been running a Commission on Economic, Industrial, and Scientific and Technical Cooperation. Before 2004, it had been an Intergovernmental Commission.

Military and technical cooperation between Russia and Greece started as far back as 1993. It is governed by the respective agreement of October 31, 1995. This document paved the way for the establishment of a Joint Russian-Greek Intergovernmental Committee on Military and Technical Cooperation.

At different times, Russia supplied Greece with SAM systems, air-cushioned landing craft, ATGMs, IFVs, light anti-tank weapons, artillery systems, Mi-26 transport helicopters, as well as small arms for special operations forces. 

Rather effective ties are established between Russian defense entities and Greek manufacturers. Our experience in this domain suggests that offset programs implemented in the course of cooperation significantly stimulate national industry and are instrumental for Greece to master and integrate Russian technologies. Ultimately, they enable Greece to place at its defense facilities counter-orders for manufacturing parts and units for Russian military equipment, as well as its assembly and maintenance. This explains why one of the most promising lines of cooperation in the military and technical domain is considered to be modernization of Soviet/Russian-made military equipment.

Rosoboronexport participated on multiple occasions in Defendory, Greece’s special Army, NAVY, and AF arms exhibition held in Athens since 1978.

Greece hosts a representative office of Rostec, Russia’s state corporation, that also projects Rosoboronexport’s interests in the country. Telephone number of the office: (+30698) 288-21-80, fax: (+30210) 677-88-68, e-mail: rep4314@rostechn.ru

Сотрудничество с Грецией

Дипломатические отношения между странами установлены 8 марта 1924 года.

Дипломатические отношения между странами установлены 8 марта 1924 года. 

В июле 1993 года состоялся визит президента России в Грецию, в ходе которого был подписан Договор о дружбе и сотрудничестве между двумя странами (вступил в силу 8 сентября 1995 года). В мае 1995 года с ответным визитом Москву посещал президент Греции Константинос Стефанопулос.

За период с 1993 года до настоящего времени было организовано более десяти официальных и рабочих визитов на высшем уровне. Осуществляется сотрудничество по линии министерств и ведомств, а также между российскими и греческими парламентариями.

Заключено свыше 50 действующих договоров и соглашений, регламентирующих широкий круг вопросов двусторонних отношений.
С 1997 года работает Смешанная российско-греческая комиссия по экономическому, промышленному и научно-техническому сотрудничеству (до 2004 года - Межправительственная комиссия).
Военно-техническое сотрудничество между Россией и Грецией осуществляется с 1993 года и регламентируется соглашением между правительством Российской Федерации и правительством Греческой Республики от 31 октября 1995 года. В развитие указанного соглашения была создана Смешанная российско-греческая межправительственная комиссия по военно-техническому сотрудничеству.

В разное время Россия поставила Греции зенитно-ракетные комплексы, десантные корабли на воздушной подушке, противотанковые ракетные комплексы, боевые машины пехоты, ручные противотанковые гранатометы, артиллерийские установки, военно-транспортные вертолеты Ми-26, а также стрелковое оружие для сил специального назначения. 

Эффективное взаимодействие осуществляется между российскими субъектами ВТС и производственными компаниями Греции. Как показывает опыт российско-греческих военно-технических контактов, реализация офсетных программ сотрудничества в значительной степени стимулирует национальную промышленность, позволяет осваивать и интегрировать в экономику Греции российские технологии, размещать на греческих военных заводах встречные заказы по изготовлению деталей и узлов для российской военной техники, ее сборке и ремонту. Именно поэтому одним из перспективных направлений дальнейшего развития российско-греческих отношений в сфере ВТС рассматривается модернизация техники советского/российского производства.
Рособоронэкспорт несколько раз принимал участие в специализированной выставке сухопутных, морских и авиационных систем вооружения Defendory (проводится с 1978 года) в Афинах.

В Греции работает представительство Государственной корпорации Ростех, обеспечивая интересы Рособоронэкспорта. 

Телефон представительства: (+30698) 288-21-80, Факс: (+30210) 677-88-68, E-mail: rep4314@rostechn.ru

Вернуться к списку стран